COMPLAINTS

Something wrong?

Head to your app or log in online using the button in the top right hand corner, and tap > Help and support and then > Ask a question to chat with WattBot. If he can't help, ask to message the team and we'll get back to you.

To raise a formal complaint, complete our complaints form below.

Smiling people

Our complaints procedure

01 — Email confirmation

We'll confirm we received your complaint.

02 — Investigate

We'll investigate as quickly as we can and let you know what we find.

03 — Resolve

Then agree a resolution with you.

Tap here to download a PDF of our full procedure

Procedure PDF

If you'd like to make a complaint, please fill out the form below

We’ll look into what’s happened and get it resolved for you.

Citizens Advice

Energy Ombudsman

Need more support?

Citizens Advice provides free, confidential and impartial advice and may be able to guide and support on any concerns you have. To find out more, download their factsheet, get help online at citizensadvice.org.uk/energy or call their helpline on 0808 223 1133.

If we haven’t resolved your complaint within eight weeks or you’re not happy with our final response, you can contact the Energy Ombudsman. It’s a free, independent service. Visit, ombudsman-services.org/energy call their helpline on 0330 440 1624, or email osenquiries@os-energy.org.

Our complaints data per quarter

QuarterNumber of complaints receivedNumber of complaints received per 10,000 accountsNumber of complaints resolved within one working dayNumber of complaints resolved within eight weeks
Apr — June 20181133286113
July — Sept 201846357306468
Sept — Dec 20181595814821399
Jan — March 20191659849951650
April — June 201998446527880
July — Sept 20191902749581604
Oct — Dec 2019271310714892679
Jan — March 20202066879791974
Apr — June 20201445597581365
July — Sept 202024457612362244
Oct — Dec 2020370610620013654
Jan — March 202135908914513395
April — June 202134307911322996

Our top five reasons for complaints

Billing and Meter Readings

Monthly statements, final bills and any billing related queries, opening and closing meter readings, submitting meter readings and reading disputes.

Payments

Direct Debit payment amounts, changing Direct Debit details and payment dates.

Switching

Switching queries and problems encountered during switching to or away from Pure Planet.

Spanner icon

Meter problems

Meter appointments, problems and faults, and any problems or issues that our Members have reported.

Customer service

Methods of contact and response times.

Guaranteed standards of performance (GSOP)

The energy regulator, Ofgem, sets out and monitors suppliers' performance each quarter.

In some instances, we'll make a Guaranteed Standards of Performance (GSOP) payment to our Members. If we fail to meet certain standards, we'll pay £30 for each breach. We'll make sure this is paid within 10 working days. If we don't pay within 10 working days, we'll make an additional payment.

Why we would issue a GSOP payment?

Cancelling appointments

If we give you less than one working day's notice when cancelling a meter appointment

Pound sign icon

Delayed final refunds

If we take longer than 10 working days to refund your final credit balance

switch icon

Erroneous transfers - confirmation

If we don't confirm to you whether an erroneous transfer has happened within 20 working days

switch icon

Erroneous transfers - re-registration

If we don't re-register you to Pure Planet within 21 working days after confirming the erroneous transfer

Delayed switches

If we don't complete your switch within 15 working days of receiving sufficient information

energy bill icon

Delayed final bills

If we don't produce a final bill within 6 weeks when we have received all of the relevant information

Booking appointments

If we can't offer you the closest possible date for an appointment, within a four hour window

Potentially faulty meters

If we don't investigate in good time, and if you are off supply, arrive on your property to investigate promptly

All payments are made as a credit into your Pure Planet energy account and will show on your statement.

More details on GSOP payments can be found in our Community.

Commentary

We received fewer complaints in the last quarter (April-June 2021) and responded to 76% of complaints received within one working day. We delivered significant improvements to our app which drove some additional contact. Our top five complaint reasons were consistent with the previous quarter.